Pocket Wifi service for residents?

My friend has a pocket wifi for sale. I’d like to buy it but I’m not sure about connecting service options. All of the advice I can find online is geared to visitors. I’m a longterm resident and I’ll only need the service not the device. Any ideas as to which companies I should consider? Thanks in advance.

I am a resident in Tokyo since October 2015 (until September 2017) and I use a pocket wifi. I don’t have a Japanese phone number, so I use internet for all communications (calling and messaging with Line, Whatsapp, Messenger). This has never caused any trouble. People at work know they can contact me on Line,… Everytime I have to give up a number somewhere, I give the general phone number of the building where I live. For me it is convenient and I don’t have to buy an expensive combined smartphone - phone contract (when I informed for this in Yodobashi Kamera, I was surprised by the high prices).

I bought the phone I wanted (LG G3) on Amazon.co.jp. I don’t use a SIM card and carry my pocket wifi router all the time with me.

The pocket wifi I use is from WiMAX.
You have to sign a contract, the one I signed was for 2 years.
I pay around 4700 yen monthly (the first 3 months were at 3500 yen or so).

Advantages about this pocket wifi:

• A foreign credit card is acceptable.
  • The connection is fast and most of the time I can stream without buffering.
  • I don’t have and don’t need a phone card (although I understand that certain people probably need it for professional reasons).
  • I use it for both my smartphone and laptop, so I don’t need an extra internet connection for my computer.

A few drawbacks however:

• I have the “unlimited contract” of 2 years, which is actually not unlimited because you can use up to 3 gigabytes in 3 days. When you use more than 3 gb, it goes very slow for a day or so.