Cheapo trip - Transportation advices

Hello cheapo community!

I am so happy to say that I am finally fulfilling one of my lifetime goals, which is, obviously, traveling to japan. But as I am still studying and stuff, my budget for this travel is really small, so this website has already helped me define a lot of things for my future trip. Anyways, here’s the deal:

I am going to spend 19 days in Japan (arriving in Narita at the 6th of july), my planned schedule is as it follows:

-From narita (July 6th) I intend to go to Kyoto
-(11th of july) from kyoto to Hiroshima
-(July 13th) from hiroshima to osaka
-(july 17th) osaka to tokyo, returning home via Narita airport by the 24th of july

It is important to say that I am interested in doing some daytrips as well, like miyajima, Kamakura and nara,

I’ve been doing some research on the various kinds of transportations, but I still didn’t find a way to get the final price cheaper than the 14d JR pass, starting to use as soon as I arrive in japan, am I missing something here?

Any tip will be of great help,

Thanks in advance!

Your trip just misses the window for the Seishun 18, which would be a lot cheaper but also slower since you can only use non-Shinkansen trains. There’s also the Willer Bus Pass, but again, it’s gonna eat into your sightseeing time unless you don’t mind sleeping on overnight vehicles.

I was having some trouble with understanding the willer bus pass actually, but I think now I’ve got the hang of it.
Yeah, it really seems to be cheaper, like, a lot, but I will need to get my schedule right for the long duration travels…and I am also not sure about my day trips, as I would need to plan in advance in case I buy the pass…

Is it easy to get tickets or should I book them as soon as they’re on the website?